Utility Menu

art education photo of child painting

Bachelor of Arts in Art Education

Accredited by NASAD and NCATE, the two major national accreditation organizations for design and education, USC Upstate offers a Bachelor of Arts in Art Education degree that leads to initial certification to teach art in K-12 schools.  This practical preparation of qualified individuals is designed to provide graduates experiences in studio art, art history, educational theories and dispositions that will prepare them to teach effectively.

Art Education students begin their program of study in the foundation courses of the visual arts department.  After successfully completing these courses and required general education courses, students apply to the Professional Art Education Program when they have completed 60 hours of work. 

Highlights of the Art Education Program 
  • 100 hours of practical experience in public schools of the upstate 
  • Visitation to diverse school populations 
  • Development of e-portfolio throughout the program 
  • Engagement in highly technical programs 
  • Direct hands- on learning experience with FOCUS Gallery for schools 
  • Service Learning with Spartanburg Art Museum and other art agencies
BA Art Education 
For information contact: Dr. Mary Lou Hightower, Program Director, mhightower@uscupstate.edu 
 

Contact
Fine Arts and Communication Studies
Performing Arts Center 125
Dr. Ben Myers, Chair

864-503-5000
bmyers@uscupstate.edu

USC Upstate Visual Arts
Visual Arts Center
800 University Way
Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303
Phone: 864-503-5689
Fax: 864-503-5835

Becky Bradham
Administrative Assistant

Ph: 864-503-5689
rbradham@uscupstate.edu


Jane Allen Nodine
Professor of Art

Ph: 864-503-5838
jnodine@uscupstate.edu

www.janenodine.com

Dr. Mary Lou Hightower
Assoc. Professor of Art Education
Ph: 864-503-5817
mhightower@uscupstate.edu


Dr. Rachel Snow
Assoc. Professor of Art History

Ph: 864-503-5853
rsnow@uscupstate.edu
 

Mark Flowers
Gallery Coordinator
Curtis R. Harley Art Gallery
Ph: 864-503-5848
mflowers@uscupstate.edu
www.mountainteastudios.com