Utility Menu

Government Building

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science

Because the subject matter of politics includes many diverse elements characteristic of human beings, the study of politics is equally diverse. Political science is divided into numerous sub-fields; these include comparative politics, international politics, statistics, methodology, political theory, public policy, and American politics.

    The political science department at USC Upstate is particularly fortunate to have faculty who have specialized in many of these sub-fields. Faculty interests include Asian, Mid-eastern, and European politics; each of the sub-fields in American government is represented, as are both "traditional" (that is, political theory) and statistical approaches to the study of politics.


    Department Chair
    Dr. Carol Loar

    Contact Us
    USC Upstate
    Department of History, Political Science, Philosophy & American Studies
    Media, Room 102
    800 University Way
    Spartanburg, SC 29303
    Phone: 864-503-5795
    Fax: 864-503-5890
    Faculty & Staff Directory