Utility Menu

Beta Gamma

Beta Gamma Sigma

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society recognizing the outstanding academic achievements of students enrolled in collegiate business and management programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

Membership in the Society is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a baccalaureate program in business.

Beta Gamma Sigma News
USC Upstate Business Student Receives Honor Society Scholarship

Faculty Members

Dr. Jerry Bennett
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Dr. Jerry Bennett graduated from the University of South Carolina Columbia in 1976 with a Ph.D. in Accounting Information Systems. He joined the School of Business Administration and Economics as Dean in August of 1986. Dr. Bennett returned to the faculty in July of 1998 as Professor of Accounting. Dr. Bennett was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma in 1976 as a candidate for his Ph.D. in Accounting at the University of South Carolina Columbia.

Dr. Diana Clary
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Dr. Diana Clary graduated from Virginia Tech with an Ed.D. in Vocational-Technical Education. She has a master's degree from Virginia Tech in Business Administration and a second master's degree from Clemson University in Professional Accountancy. She joined the school of Business in 1987. Dr. Clary was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma in 1973 at Virginia Tech as an MBA graduate. In March of 2002, Dr. Clary founded and inducted the first members of Beta Gamma Sigma on the Spartanburg campus. She served as Acting Dean during the 2003-2004 Academic School Year.

Dr. Lilly M. Lancaster
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
William S. Moore Palmetto Professor in Quality Studies, Dr. Lancaster received her Ph.D. in Management Science from the University of Massachusetts. She has taught at USC Upstate since 1987 in operations management and statistics. She has published in a number of scholarly journals including European Journal of Operational Research , Interfaces, Socio-Economic Planning Sciences and Production and Inventory Management. She is a member of the American Society for Quality and has served as the academic advisor for the Industrial Crescent Chapter of the APICS - The Educational Society for Resource Management. She has served as an examiner for the South Carolina Governor’s Quality Award.

Dr. Sarah P. Rook
Professor, Economics

Dr. Rook received her M.E. and Ph.D. degrees in economics from North Carolina State University. She teaches macroeconomics, microeconomics, and statistics. Her research interest is environmental economics.

Dr. Frank Rudisill
Interim Dean,
 Associate Professor, Management 
Dr. Rudisill received a Ph.D. in management science from Clemson University.  He joined the USC Upstate faculty in fall 2002. He teaches in the areas of management, operations management and statistics. He has 20 years experience in industry as a statistician, operations research manager and statistical quality control consultant. His research interests focus upon applying quality tools and techniques in solving industrial problems.  He has published in Production and Inventory Management and Quality Engineering.  He is the co-author of a book, Quality Management and Measurement Systems.  Dr. Rudisill is a member of the American Society of Quality and holds APICS certification. 

Dr. Elnora Stuart
Professor, Marketing
Dr. Stuart joined the faculty in 2008. She earned a Ph.D. in Marketing from the University of South Carolina. Before coming to USC Upstate, Dr. Stuart was a visiting professor of marketing at the Instituto de Empressa in Madrid, Spain. She has also served as professor of marketing, BP Egypt Oil Professor of Management Studies, marketing unit head and AACSB Accreditation Coordinator for the Department of Management at the American University in Cairo, Egypt. 

Dr. Faruk Tanyel
Professor, Marketing
Dr. Faruk Tanyel, professor of marketing, graduated from the University of Tennessee Knoxville in 1983 with a D.B.A. in Marketing. He joined the School of Business Administration and Economics in January of 1980. Dr. Tanyel was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma in 1983 as a candidate for his D.B.A. in Marketing at the University of Tennessee Knoxville.

Downtown Campus Information
Campus Shuttle and Parking
Driving Directions
Building Hours
Expected Business Dress 
Tobacco Use Policy 

News and Events

JCBE Professionalism Series
Johnson Innovation Series
Wells Fargo Speaker Series 
SunTrust Financial Literacy Program   
Johnson College in the News 
The SARS Student Advisement System

Johnson College Resources
Online Giving

Letter from the Dean
Leadership Advisory Council
Master Schedule
Registration and Advising
Exam Schedule
Frequently Asked Questions
Johnson College Faculty
Beta Gamma Sigma

Facility Room Rental
Professional Program Admission Application
Prerequisites and Concentration Requirements

Degree Worksheet

Contact Us

Frank Rudisill, Ph.D.
an, Professor of Management
Phone: 864-503-5511

Amy Henderson
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Phone: 864-503-5312

Elnora Stuart, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Professor of Marketing
Phone: 864-503-5588

Brian Smith
Technology Coordinator

Deborah Sparks  
Administrative Assistant
Student Services
Phone: 864-503-5580

Hannah Terpack
Freshmen Advisor & Student Services Coordinator
Phone: 864-503-5049

Sarah C. Butler
Transfer Advisor & Student Services Coordinator

George Dean Johnson, Jr.
College of Business and Economics

160 East St. John Street
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Phone: 864-503-5580
Fax: 864-503-5583
Faculty & Staff Directory

Greenville Campus
The University Center
225 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607

Facebook Icon