Utility Menu

Faculty Excellence Committee

Committee for Faculty Excellence (TAPS)

The members of the Committee for Faculty Excellence (see list below) support and promote faculty excellence and faculty development in the areas of teaching and productive scholarship. The committee:

TAPS Grants Overview

The purpose of the USC Upstate Teaching and Productive Scholarship (TAPS) Fund is to promote good scholarship including original research projects, programs that support curriculum development and travel for presentation of scholarship. Funded projects support faculty scholarship with the goal of formal presentation and/or publication, improve pedagogy and curriculum development to contribute to the USC Upstate mission and/or enable major service projects that require application of scholarly and/or professional knowledge.


TAPS Grant Criteria and Application Forms

Policies Approved by Faculty Senate, September 2014
Format Converted to Electronic January 2015

The Electronic TAPS Grant Application in SharePoint is now available. Paper applications will no longer be accepted.


  • As you complete the form, choose save after you have completed the fields marked with a red asterisk (*). Then choose save and continue to resume working on the application or save and exit if you wish to end the session and resume work later. Saving your work early and then regularly afterwards will
  • Please note limits to character amount and types in the Project Title and Attachment fields.
  • SharePoint works best with Google Chrome and Internet Explorer.
  • Please see the application instructions, including a sample project narrative and itemized budget for travel.
  • Video and checklist-based tutorials are available on the TAPS SharePoint site
  • See the TAPS Grant Complete Policies and Guidelines for more details.


Deadline for Submitting Receipts

In September 2014, the USC Upstate Faculty Senate voted to eliminate the requirement for final reports.

All recipients of TAPS grants are required to submit all receipts to their administrative assistants within 30 days of the recipient’s return from a trip or within 30 days of expenditure for non-travel grants. For recipients of TAPS grants who fail to do so or who fail to notify the committee of cancellation of a trip within 30 days after the scheduled trip, the unreported amount will be deducted from the maximum amount the recipient will be eligible to receive in the next fiscal year. Timely submission of receipts prevents the loss of funds at the end of the fiscal year. Appeals to the Committee for Faculty Excellence (formerly the Teaching Excellence Committee) will be decided based on their merits.

Please contact Dr. Calvin Odhiambo, CFE Chair, or your unit representative for questions about TAPS grants or other CFE issues.

CFE Committee 2017-2018

Gary Bradley
20 Gary Bradley (SOE)
Allison Pingley
20 Allison Pingley (HPPA)
Seunggeun Hyun
20 Steve Hyun (MCS)
Susan Richardson
19 Susan Richardson (INFO)
Felicia Jenkins
19 Felicia Jenkins  (SON)
Andrew Kearns
19  Andrew Kearns (LIB)
Colleen O'Brien
19 Colleen O'Brien  (LLC) 
Calvin Odhiambo
18 Calvin Odhiambo* (SCW) 
Jack Cheng
18 Jack Cheng (JCBE)
Matthew Donaldson
18 Matthew Donaldson (FACS)
Lynn McMillan
18 Lynn McMillan (PSY)
17 Anselm Omoike (NSE)


Chancellor Brendan Kelly
Brendan Kelly,

Clif Flynn
Clif Flynn,
Interim Senior Vice Chancellor
Laura Puckett-Boler 
Laura Puckett-Boler,
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Dean of Students