Direct Connect banner 2014

Upstate Direct Connect

Upstate Direct Connect is an exclusive opportunity for two-year colleges partnering with the University of South Carolina Upstate. Any student who graduates with an AA, AS or select AAS degree from Greenville Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, Spartanburg Community College, Spartanburg Methodist College, or Tri-County Technical College is guaranteed admission to the University of South Carolina Upstate (minimum 2.0 GPA required).

Smooth Transition Toward Your Bachelor's Degree
USC Upstate and its partnering two-year colleges want you to have a clear, smooth, worry-free transition to USC Upstate when you are ready to earn your bachelor’s degree. Once you have indicated your participation in the program, your partnering college and USC Upstate work together to prepare you for completion of your bachelor’s degree.

Benefits of Upstate Direct Connect
There are many reasons to join as soon as you decide a bachelor’s degree is your goal. As a member of Upstate Direct Connect, you will have:

  • Guaranteed entrance to USC Upstate
    Students graduating with AA, AS or select AAS degrees are guaranteed admission to USC Upstate (minimum 2.0 GPA required).
  • Accelerated admissions to USC Upstate
    Provides smooth transition through the USC Upstate process including orientation, transcripts, advising, and financial aid.
  • Enhanced academic advising
    Students receive comprehensive on-site advising from both their two-year college advisors and USC Upstate advisors.
  • Priority registration at USC Upstate
    You’ll be able to register for classes before many other new students.
  • Concurrent admission
    You may select USC Upstate courses after completing 45 semester hours of credit at one of our Upstate Direct Connect partner schools.

Qualifying for Upstate Direct Connect
You qualify for Upstate Direct Connect if you are applying for or working on your AA, AS or selected AAS from Greenville Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, Spartanburg Community College, Spartanburg Methodist College, or Tri-County Technical College and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0.

USC Upstate

Donette Stewart
Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services
dstewart@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5280

Ruth Ann Pitt
Transfer Counselor
rpitt@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5281


Greenville Technical College

Greenville Tech Website and FAQ

Consuelo Sculthorpe
Admissions Officer
Consuelo.Sculthorpe@gvltec.edu
(864) 250-8379

Berta Keene
Academic Advisor
berta.keene@gvltec.edu
(864) 250-8488

Spartanburg Community College

SCC Website

Yolanda Simuel
Academic Advisor
864-592-4657
simuely@sccsc.edu

Luke Black
Coordinator of Recruiting
864-592-4122
blackl@sccsc.edu


Spartanburg Methodist College

SMC Website

Mike Queen
Director of Admissions
864-587-4222
queenm@smcsc.edu

Pete Aylor
Transfer Counselor
864-587-4229
aylorp@smcsc.edu

Tri-County Technical College

Jenni Evans Creamer
Director
864-646-1615
jevans12@tctc.edu