Palmetto Clock

The South Carolina Academy of Authors

The South Carolina Academy of Authors, the state’s literary hall of fame, was founded at Anderson College in 1986. Largely the brainchild of Paul Talmadge, then vice president and academic dean, its principal purpose was to identify and recognize the state’s distinguished writers, living and deceased.

Talmadge and others felt that the public recognition of South Carolina’s writers would serve to increase the reading of their works by the general public and would lead to the rediscovery of the works of those recognized posthumously. Beyond its traditional induction ceremonies, the Academy’s largely educational focus has also taken programmatic form in its sponsorship of cash-award literary fellowships.

With its goal of nurturing new literary talent, the fellowship program has helped to launch or further the careers of some of the state’s younger fiction and nonfiction writers, poets, and dramatists.

South Carolina Academy of Authors Home

Newest Inductee

Past Inductees 


Contact Information
Tom Johnson, Chair

Thomas McConnell, Vice Chair

Board of Governors
South Carolina Academy of Authors