State Authorization

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

The University of South Carolina Upstate has been approved to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements.

USC Upstate joined the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) as an institutional member in August of 2016. USC Upstate accepts qualified students from any SARA member state, or from states that do not require authorization for enrolling students in any of its online degree programs. Currently, 49 US states (all but California), Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, and the US Virgin Islands are included in SARA membership. 

Complaints Procedure

USC Upstate students enrolled in online programs while living in other states have the right to process complaints or concerns with the appropriate state agency. Students wishing to file a complaint are encouraged to follow USC Upstate’s internal complaint process first.

In addition, online students may seek redress for non-academic complaints through the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. Please follow the complaints process and form for students in all SARA member states: Student Complaint Procedures and Form.

Students living in California while enrolled in USC Upstate online programs follow the complaints procedure of the State of California Department of Consumer Affairs.

(Updated 8/10/2023)